“What did you hope to achieve?”

IMG_4057 This was a question I was asked by one of my oldest friends at Christmas when I’d said that I’d had to take the back off the television because it wouldn’t turn on. At the time I had no clue. I’m not an electrician, and have no idea about the inner workings of a television, what on earth was I thinking…? My only basis for taking the back off was that the standby light would flicker when I moved the power-lead. I’d already tried a different lead, which hadn’t made the blindest jot of difference, so thought that it must be a faulty connection inside. I wasn’t sure what I’d find inside, or what I’d be able to do. I actually ended up leaving out a screw so that the board that holds the power socket had some play in it… don’t ask why though, as I have no idea, but it worked. This morning however, the volume kept turning itself down to zero. At first I was convinced one of the cats were sitting on the remote, but this wasn’t the case. I also removed the batteries from all of the remotes, but this still didn’t make a difference. So the back came off the television again. However, this time I went and researched possible causes and fixes first on the net. Now this did involve reading through a few forums, which I don’t like doing as you never know who it is that’s giving you the advice. At work we will have the odd customer repeat research that they’ve read on forums, and 9 times out of 10 it sounds like nonsense. The fix I decided upon sounded plausible, but as it had no detailed instructions whatsoever, I wasn’t certain if it was something that I would be able to do. Turns out, disconnecting all the switches on the side of the television was just a case of unplugging them. It worked. I don’t need to buy a new one…which is unfortunate as I really want a bigger television. So; What did I hope to achieve…? Not needlessly spending money on something that could be fixed. Which I suppose comes from always working on my own bikes. I think though I will have to draw a line somewhere, as there are only so many screws I can leave out and plugs I can disconnect…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

