“Think of something funny…”

“Think of something funny, and go back two frames from there.” This was the advice that John gave me yesterday on how to go about writing a comic, and it’s gone round and around in my head ever since.
He had suggested once before that we work on something together, but neither of us did anything about it, and then I met him again for lunch yesterday and he suggested it again. Now you’d think that I’d ask ‘what should it be about?’ but I didn’t – I still haven’t – I just asked ‘how?’
“Think of something funny, and go back two frames from there.”
I started writing this post this morning, but didn’t quite know what I was going to put, because I didn’t know what the comic was about that I didn’t know how to write. John’s current comic, that he makes with his friend Terry, is derived from their penchant for gaming – something I know nothing about – But did he want me to write about that? Did he want me to write for their existing characters? Write something set in their pre-existing universe? Or did he want me to come up with something else? I didn’t know, (because) I didn’t ask. And then it hit me. And then I started to jot down some notes, and some drawings to go with them. I wrote about a character who is just as clueless as I am.
Whether any of this will see the light of day? I have no idea. But I’ll continue scribbling things down, until I manage to find something that’s funny and that can maybe fit with John and Terrys universe.
2 thoughts on ““Think of something funny…”

Add yours

  1. You can do it. We believe in you.

    – dotGif team

    Side note – I found your ‘other blog’ (this one), and am now totally RSS-ing you.

  2. No pressure, but if your comic isnt funny I’m gonna hunt you down and force you to read the comic John wrote.
    But no pressure.
    T/K

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

